top of page

Violence


WHAT ARE THE FACTORS THAT CONTRIBUTE TO INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE?
There is no single cause of intimate partner violence. Anyone may become a victim, regardless of gender, age, race, ethnicity, education, cultural identity, economic status, profession, religion, sexual orientation, physical or mental capacity, or personality. Spousal abuse is a complex problem based on several contributing factors involving personal, interpersonal, or social issues.

The lack of access to community-based services and support increases a person’s vulnerability to resort to violence, or to compound the effects that violence has.

Men who have committed violent acts are ultimately responsible for their actions and the damages they inflict. In certain cases, these men may have been victims of violence themselves or may have witnessed violence in the past. Counselling can allow these men to take back control of their life and end the cycle of violence.



The HUMANIST Approach

Humanists believe that humans are ultimately good in nature. Based on this notion, we believe it is important to help individuals reappropriate their emotions, allowing them to regain power in their life and break free from their defense mechanisms that can often lead to violence/violent behaviour.
The humanist approach assumes that individuals have the capacity to understand their situation, take control of their life, to self-actualize and ultimately be happy. They are the experts of their own life and can find solutions to address their issues.
The open mindedness involved in this approach, along with a systemic analysis of the factors that contribute to violence (from the macro- and microsystems of their relationships), means that we provide unconditional support to the men who need it.


What do “Point Final” meetings look like?


Le programs aims to:

  • Reduce inappropriate behaviour

  • Develop listening skills

  • Analyze situations according to personal perceptions

  • Demonstrate how to adequately feel and express emotions

  • Teach empathy

  • Help participants “let go” of past events

  • Develop skills and competencies

  • Help participants take responsibility for their actions.




 

bottom of page

La violence


QUELS SONT LES FACTEURS QUI CONTRIBUENT À LA VIOLENCE CONJUGALE ?
Il n'y a pas une seule « cause » définitive de violence conjugale et n'importe qui peut courir le risque d'être agressé - quel que soit le sexe, l'âge, la race, l'ethnie, l'instruction, l'identité culturelle, le statut socio-économique, le métier, la religion, l'orientation sexuelle, la capacité physique ou mentale et la personnalité. La violence conjugale est un problème complexe, et il peut y avoir plusieurs facteurs différents qui y contribuent (individuel, relationnel et social). 

L'absence d'accès aux services et soutien communautaire peuvent augmenter la vulnérabilité d'une personne à la violence - ou combiner les effets de la violence.

Les hommes ayant commis des agressions sont responsables de la violence et du tort causés. Dans certains cas, les hommes ont pu avoir été eux-mêmes agressés ou avoir été témoins de violence. Consulter permet à ces hommes de reprendre du pouvoir sur leur vie et de mettre fin au cycle de la violence.



L'approche HUMANISTE 

Les humanistes considèrent que la nature humaine est fondamentalement bonne. C’est à partir de cette première notion que nous considérons qu’il faut aider la personne à se réapproprier ses émotions pour qu'elle puisse prendre du pouvoir sur sa vie et sortir de ses mécanismes de défense qui la conduit souvent à la violence.
L’approche humaniste voit la personne comme un être capable de comprendre sa situation, de prendre le contrôle sur sa propre vie, de s’actualiser et d’être heureux. Il est l'expert de sa vie et porteur de solutions à ses enjeux. 
L'ouverture d'esprit de cette approche avec une pensée systémique des facteurs conditionnant de la violence (du marco-système au micro-système de nos relations), nous permet un accueil inconditionnel pour les hommes qui en ont besoin.


Que se passe-t-il aux rencontres «Point Final» ?  

Le programme vise à :

  • Réduire les comportements inadéquats

  • Développer une meilleure capacité d’écoute

  • Faire la part des choses dans nos perceptions

  • Apprendre à exprimer ses émotions et à les ressentir adéquatement

  • Apprendre à être empathique

  • Apprendre à lâcher prise

  • Développer ses propres aptitudes et compétences

  • Se responsabiliser face à ses comportements.