top of page
Our History

Our organizational history:

 

We will touch on the birth of the organization, its evolution and development, the integrated services involving other partners which it offers men, including the Suicide Prevention Centre of the Haute-Yamaska, the CLSC of the Haute-Yamaska, the Youth Centre of Montérégie, of the Granby sector (Haute-Yamaska) and the Brome-Missisquoi sector. We will describe the services currently offered, as well as opportunities for development on a short- and long-term basis.

Birth of the organization (1988–1989)

The Ressource pour Hommes arose from an initiative spearheaded by counsellors from the Haute-Yamaska CLSC.

MMs. Mireille Choinière, community worker, and Mr. Claude Leblond, social worker, therapist for violent spouses, and head of the Poing Final service (now known as Point Final), who were under the responsibility of the same CLSC at the time. They reached out to community members sensitive to the needs of men and aware of the lack of services specifically available to them and joined hands to conceive a suitable resource. The original team consisted of the following individuals: Gilles Brodeur, Mireille Choinière, Jocelyne Déry, André Lacasse, Marco Lacasse, Claude Leblond, Denis Loranger and Robert Paquette. The following milestones were reached thanks to this group of people. Some of these individuals have since retired and others have partnered with other members. Their shared perceptions regarding the specific needs of men led to a summary review or organizations offering services tailored for men and their goals.

A fundraiser to raise awareness and gather information on issues impacting men in our region. Approximately 30 men participated in the event held in the fall of 1988, which served to identify concrete issues and justify the need to start a community-based organization.

Over the course of the next several months, the team was made to consist of a provisional council and worked to develop the goals and general objectives of the organization. The first request for a subsidy was made to the Soutien aux organismes communautaires MSSS (S.O.C.), and a request for incorporation was granted on March 22, 1989.

An evening of discussion was held on the topic of gender relations, organized by a subcommittee formed in part by the participants of the first fundraising event. A first operations manual was developed (outlining the mission, general objectives, and action plan for the first year), as well as a list of general rules governing the organization going forward, with the upcoming foundation assembly on April 24, 1989 in mind.

As a result of the amalgamation of support groups geared towards violent spouses, our prevention services for men in crisis situations (such as separation and suicide) are no longer funded.


We continue to offer these services even though since 1992, our baseline budget has been integrated into the financial policy for counselling groups dedicated to intimate partner violence. Our male-focused counselling is now self-funded.

Adolescence (1989–1991)

These teenage years allowed the Ressource pour Hommes to gain a foothold within the community.

Working mainly through employment programs and with volunteer or contractual counsellors for screening interviews and group screening, our organization began establishing itself within the male client base and other local organizations.

Securing the first budget for men’s issues from the SOC, employment projects, the volunteer work of social workers and local psychologists allowed us to form support groups for men going through breakups, host several events to raise public awareness, and start up our first reflection groups on various topics concerning men’s issues.

Collaboration with the Haute-Yamaska CLSC began, specifically with the Poing Final program (now known as Point Final)—for violent male partners. Negotiations ensued that would see services from CLSC become integrated with the program. But having developed a high level of expertise, and with a reputation to uphold, the CLSC is hesitant to the transfer of services, despite the excellent contacts involved in the program.

Finally, in January of 1991, we signed our first contract with the Haute-Yamaska CLSC, for service-related loans (such as facilities, a registrar’s office, and office space) and a co-facilitator to host intervention groups for violent male partners (one day group and one evening group), along with a contractual worker from Ressource pour Hommes.

Since the integration of these two groups, our preventive services offered to men in situations of distress (such as breakups, those considering suicide) and our group meetings that focus on men’s issues no longer receive funding.


We continue to offer these services even though our baseline budget was integrated into the broader financial policy that funds intervention groups for violent male partners. All our interventions for men’s issues are now self-funded.

Late adolescence (1992–1993)

The Ressource pour Hommes gains a stronger foothold in the community, while still receiving logistical support and loans from the CLSC of the Haute-Yamaska. In addition, the Ressource stepped up its collaboration and coordination efforts with several partners across Quebec.

We kept on offering our education and prevention services. We hosted three intervention groups for violent male partners and developed awareness groups with both provincial detention institutions, one awareness group with a halfway house, as well with a program wishing to intervene among detainees at the Cowansville Federal Detention Centre.

The demand for services kept growing and cooperation became increasingly regular, particularly with the Le Passant men’s shelter and the Haute-Yamaska suicide prevention centre.


The Le Passant Men’s shelter relocated so that it could build a crisis centre. At first, we rented their old facilities and integrated our intervention services. We started to offer in-shelter prevention services for intimate partner violence, difficult separations, and suicide crises.

The big leap (1995–1998)

In 1996, we finally settled into our administrative branch at 436 Horner, all the while maintaining our group services offered on Pie IX Blvd. In the process of amalgamating several services that materialized in June 1996 at a joint general assembly with a progressive intervention plan, we were able to make this transition under one administration with the same direction, and with an administrative council composed of a mixed group.

The mission and budgets of both organizations remained separate, but the amalgamation of several services allowed us to maximize the use of funding to offer services to clients. Both organizations strived to better integrate their services for men, and the presence of the Suicide Prevention Team added crucial expertise to our crisis services.

Intervention groups for violent male partners grew with the implementation of regular pre-group meetings (days and evenings) and availability to book extra meetings according to need. Now maintained three regular groups, and at one point, maintained five group for a period of several months.


In collaboration with the youth group in our immediate area, we formed a violence awareness group for teens and youth. We based our first groups on cases from the youth centre and from a high school in Cowansville. The appearance of a group home (for nine teens) in the sector, coupled with a potential growing demand from other high schools in the area, compelled us to give further consideration as to the future of the group.

Autonomy (1999–2000)

The story leading up the summary of activities of the three past years is what we use as the basis of our current way of thinking. For nearly two years now, we have kept our focus on prevention and have been looking for ways to implement services that aim to reduce the incidence of intimate partner violence against men in our region. After several years of dithering, we are now committed to helping youth (for obtaining visitation rights, allowing supervised visits, forming support groups for teens…).

We hold pre-group meetings for members of our violent partner support groups, which have helped to reduce dropout rates for regular group therapy and significantly reduce wait times for integration.

In November 1998, the Ressource pour Hommes, by way of a special general assembly, appointed an administrative committee separate from that of the Le Passant shelter. The administrative ties established during previous years were inadequate and created confusion surrounding the missions of the two organizations. A partnership to ensure complementary services remains and has resulted in an increase in the number of services available to men in situations of difficulty at the Ressource pour Hommes.


As growth continued, our facilities became insufficient, so in March of 1999, the Ressource pour Hommes expanded to its location at 739 Dufferin, a larger and more appropriate facility that will be suitable for the years to come.

Anniversary and development (2014–2015)

The number of counselors and clients only keeps growing. Our facilities have required expansion work twice now.

The organization celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2014–2015. Several activities were organized to mark this important milestone in our development. We took advantage of this unique occasion offered to us to increase our visibility and raise awareness about the services available to our partners and to the general population. The festivities also allowed us to hire several new members.


A new service was implemented in 2015: the HASE project—aimed at helping male survivors of childhood sexual abuse.

Major development (2020)

The Ressource pour hommes de la Haute-Yamaska opens the regions’ first housing resource for fathers and their children: the Maison Oxygène des Yamaska.

Current (2020–present day)

The number of counselors and clients only keeps growing. Our facilities have required expansion work four times.

bottom of page

Notre Historique

Voici l'historique de notre organisme :

 

Nous parlerons de sa naissance, de son évolution et du développement des services intégrés pour hommes qui implique d'autres partenaires, dont le Centre de Prévention du suicide de la Haute-Yamaska, le CLSC de la Haute-Yamaska et le Centre jeunesse de la Montérégie, secteur Granby (Haute-Yamaska) et secteur Brome-Missisquoi. Nous traçons le portrait actuel de nos services, de même que les perspectives de développement à court et à moyen terme.

Naissance de l'organisme (1988 - 1989)

La Ressource pour Hommes est née de l'initiative d'intervenants du CLSC de la Haute-Yamaska.

Mme Mireille Choinière, travailleuse communautaire, et M. Claude Leblond, travailleur social, thérapeute auprès des conjoints violents et responsable du service Poing Final, à l'époque sous la responsabilité du même CLSC. À leur invitation, des citoyens de la région, sensibles aux besoins des hommes et à l'inexistence de services qui leur soient propres, se sont joints à eux pour réfléchir à la pertinence de mettre sur pied une telle ressource. L'équipe d'origine était composée des personnes suivantes : Gilles Brodeur, Mireille Choinière, Jocelyne Déry, André Lacasse, Marco Lacasse, Claude Leblond, Denis Loranger et Robert Paquette. Les étapes qui suivent ont ponctué le travail de ce groupe de personnes. Certaines personnes se sont retirées et d'autres se sont jointes aux autres membres. La mise en commun des perceptions de chacun concernant les besoins des hommes a été faite et une revue sommaire d'organismes offrant des services aux hommes et leurs objectifs a été effectuée.

L'organisation d'une soirée de sensibilisation et de collecte d'informations portant sur les besoins des hommes de notre région a été préparée. Environ 30 hommes ont participé à cette soirée tenue à l'automne 1988, et suite à laquelle des besoins furent identifiés, justifiant la mise sur pied d'un organisme communautaire.

Au cours des mois qui ont suivi, l'équipe s'est constituée d'un conseil provisoire et a travaillé à formuler les buts et objectifs généraux de l'organisme. Une première demande de subvention a été formulée au S.O.C. (Soutien aux organismes communautaires MSSS) et une demande d'incorporation a été acceptée le 22 mars 1989.

Une soirée de discussion portant sur les relations hommes-femmes a été organisée par un sous-comité formé en partie de participants à la première réunion de sensibilisation. Un premier cahier des opérations (mission, objectifs généraux, plan d'action de l'an I) et des règlements généraux régissant le futur organisme ont été élaborés en vue de l'assemblée de fondation du 24 avril 1989.

Depuis l'intégration des groupes pour conjoints violents, nos services préventifs auprès des hommes en difficulté (rupture, suicide) et nos groupes en condition masculine ne sont plus subventionnés.

Nous continuons de maintenir ces services malgré que depuis 1992, notre budget de base est intégré dans la politique de financement des groupes d'intervention auprès des conjoints violents. Nos interventions en condition masculine sont maintenant auto-financées.

Adolescence  (1989 - 1991)

Ces années d'adolescence ont permis à Ressource pour Hommes de mieux s'ancrer dans son milieu.

Fonctionnant majoritairement avec des programmes d'emploi et des intervenants bénévoles ou contractuels pour les entrevues d'accueil et les groupes, notre organisme a commencé son implantation auprès de la clientèle masculine et des organismes du milieu.

L'obtention d'un premier budget du SOC en condition masculine, les projets d'emplois et le bénévolat de travailleurs sociaux et de psychologues du milieu nous ont permis de mettre sur pied deux groupes d'accueil et de soutien pour hommes en situation de rupture, de créer de nombreux événements de sensibilisation auprès de la population et de mettre en marche nos premiers groupes de réflexion sur les différents aspects de la condition masculine.

La collaboration avec le CLSC Haute-Yamaska s'installe, plus précisément le service Poing Final (maintenant connu sous le nom de Point Final) auprès des conjoints violents. Les négociations quant à son intégration s'amorcent. Ayant développé une bonne expertise et jouissant d'une bonne réputation, le CLSC se montre d'abord réticent au transfert bien que les contacts furent excellents.

Finalement, en janvier 1991, nous signons une première entente avec le CLSC Haute-Yamaska : prêt de services (locaux, secrétariat, bureau) et d'un co-animateur pour les groupes d'intervention auprès des conjoints violents (un groupe de jour, un de soir) jumelé à un contractuel de Ressource pour Hommes.

Depuis l'intégration des groupes pour conjoints violents, nos services préventifs auprès des hommes en difficulté (rupture, suicide) et nos groupes en condition masculine ne sont plus subventionnés.

Nous continuons de maintenir ces services malgré que depuis 1992, notre budget de base est intégré dans la politique de financement des groupes d'intervention auprès des conjoints violents. Nos interventions en condition masculine sont maintenant auto-financées.

Presqu'adulte (1992 - 1993)

Ressource pour Hommes s'implante de plus en plus dans son milieu et bénéficie toujours du support logistique du CLSC Haute-Yamaska et du prêt de personnel. De plus, la Ressource accentue ses activités de collaboration et de concertation, et s'ouvre un peu auprès de ses partenaires de tout le Québec.

Nous maintenons nos activités de sensibilisation et de prévention. Nous offrons 3 groupes d'intervention auprès des conjoints violents et développons des groupes de sensibilisation avec les 2 établissements  provinciaux, de détention, un programme de sensibilisation avec une maison de transition et un programme qui se voulait d'intervention auprès des détenus du centre de détention fédéral de Cowansville.

La demande se fait de plus en plus croissante, les collaborations de plus en plus régulières, particulièrement avec la maison d'hébergement pour hommes en difficulté Le Passant, et le Centre de prévention du suicide de la Haute-Yamaska.

La Maison d'hébergement pour personnes en difficulté Le Passant se relocalise, envisageant la mise sur pied d'un centre de crise. Nous louons d'abord ses anciens locaux et mettons en commun des services d'intervention. Nous commençons à utiliser des services préventif d'hébergement en situation de violence conjugale, de rupture amoureuse difficile et de crises suicidaires.

Le grand saut (1995 - 1998)

C'est en 1996, finalement, que nous nous installons pour la partie administrative au 436 Horner, tout en maintenant les services de groupe sur le boulevard Pie IX. Tout en amorçant un travail de mise en commun de plusieurs services qui se sont concrétisés en juin 1996 par une assemblée générale conjointe et un plan d'intégration progressif, c'est en passant par une gestion commune des deux organismes par une même direction et un conseil d'administration mixte pour la première année que nous effectuons la transition.

La mission et les budgets des organismes demeurent séparés, mais la mise en commun de certains services optimise l'utilisation des fonds en services aux bénéficiaires. Les deux organismes visent à développer des services mieux intégrés pour les hommes, et la présence de l'équipe du Centre de prévention du suicide vient ajouter une expertise plus qu'importante à nos services de crise.

Les groupes d'intervention auprès des conjoints violents croissent avec la mise sur pied de deux pré-groupes réguliers (jour, soir) et une disponibilité pour d'autres selon les besoins. Nous maintenons trois groupes réguliers, avec une pointe jusqu'à cinq pendant quelques mois.

Avec le Centre Jeunesse de notre sous-région, nous avons développé un groupe de sensibilisation à la violence auprès des adolescents, auprès des jeunes en général. C'est à partir de dossiers provenant du Centre Jeunesse et d'une polyvalente de Cowansville que les premiers groupes sont formés. L'arrivée d'un foyer de groupe (9 adolescents) dans le secteur et les demandes croissantes potentielles des autres polyvalentes de la région, nous obligeront à réfléchir à l'avenir de ce groupe.

Autonomie (1999 - 2000)

Les quelques lignes qui précèdent particulièrement le bilan d'activités des trois dernières années se veulent la base de notre réflexion actuelle. Depuis bientôt deux ans, nous maintenons le cap sur nos actions préventives et cherchons à développer des services qui nous permettent de diminuer l'incidence de la violence conjugale chez les hommes de notre région. Après quelques années de tergiversations, nous nous rapprochons des jeunes (droits d'accès, visites supervisées, groupe ados...).

Nous maintenons nos groupes d'intervention auprès des conjoints violents avec l'ajout de pré-groupe qui a sensiblement diminué nos taux d'abandon aux groupes réguliers et réduit très considérablement le temps d'attente et d'intégration.

En novembre 98, Ressource pour Hommes en assemblée générale spéciale, se nomme un Comité Administratif distinct de celui de la maison d'hébergement Le Passant. Les liens administratifs n'étaient pas appropriés amenant, avec les années, de la confusion dans les missions des deux organismes. Le partenariat et la complémentarité des services demeurent toujours en place et les services pour les hommes en difficulté continuent d'augmenter à Ressource pour Hommes.

La croissance demeure évidente et nos locaux actuels insuffisants, donc, en mars 99, Ressource pour Hommes emménage dans de nouveaux locaux soit le 739 Dufferin, plus approprié et plus vaste, pour les prochaines années.

 Anniversaire et développement (2014 - 2015)

Le nombre d'intervenants et de clients ne cesse d'augmenter. L'agrandissement par l'intérieur requiert à deux reprises des travaux dans nos locaux.

L'organisme fête ses 25 ans d'existence en 2014-2015. Plusieurs activités furent organisées pour souligner cette étape importante dans notre cheminement. Nous avons profité de cette occasion unique, qui nous était offerte, pour augmenter notre visibilité et ainsi faire connaître nos services parmi nos partenaires et la population. Ces festivités nous ont permis de recruter plusieurs nouveaux membres.

Un nouveau service est lancé en 2015, soit le projet HASE (Hommes Abusés Sexuellement durant leur enfance).

Développement majeur (2020)

Ressource pour hommes de la Haute-Yamaska ouvre la première ressource d'hébergement pères/enfants dans la région, la Maison Oxygène des Yamaska.

L'actuel (2020 - à ce jour)

Le nombre d'intervenants et de clients ne cesse d'augmenter. L'agrandissement par l'intérieur requiert à quatre reprises des travaux dans nos locaux.